May 06, 2013

Santa Clarita Bracket homepage

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially announced the seeds and site selections for the 2013 NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round. Each of the nine locations will feature a five-team double-elimination tournament May 9 – 13.

Opening Round champions will join host Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) at the 57th annual Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series at Harris Field in Lewiston, Idaho, May 24 – 31.

The Master’s College, who will be making its first national championship appearance since 2009, was chosen as both the No.1 seed and the host site for the five-day tournament.  Making the trip to Santa Clarita will be Cal State San Marcos (No. 2 seed), San Diego Christian (No. 3 seed), Tabor of Kansas (No. 4 seed), and Concordia of Oregon (No. 5 seed).

Tabor and Concordia will begin the tournament Thursday, May 9, at 9:00 AM.  Following, Cal State San Marcos will take on San Diego Christian at noon, and The Master’s College will then play the winner of the Tabor/Concordia game at 3:00 PM.  To view the Santa Clarita bracket homepage, click here.

Twenty-nine teams earned automatic berths to the Opening Round field by placing first or second at their respective conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournaments or by winning a regular-season championship. An additional 16 at-large selections – determined by the final NAIA Baseball Coaches' Top 25 Poll released May 5 – round out the field.

Ten programs within the field are making their first-ever appearance at the Opening Round, while seven squads have appeared in every event since the format began in 2009. Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Lee (Tenn.) and Oklahoma City highlight the group with four Opening Round championships, while Lubbock Christian (Texas) and Tennessee Wesleyan own three each.